ICOM member access
Join ICOM

ICMEMO

ICMEMO

International Committee of Memorial Museums in Remembrance of the Victims of Public Crimes

All news

March 30, 2021

JOINT ONLINE CONFERENCE ICETHICS / ICMEMO Conference

Please save the date September 30th, 2021, for the ICETHICS/ICMEMO Joint Online conference.
 
POLITICAL PRESSURE ON MUSEUMS: Controlling the narrative?
When: Thursday, 30th of September 2021
8 am (EDT) New York / 2 pm (CET) Paris / 10 pm (JST) Kyoto
Political pressure on museums is leaving museum professionals with many ethical challenges to consider.
How far should museums stretch or compromise when politics or politicians in charge demand approaches which are not sound in light of professional standards?
What about the personal integrity of museum professionals towards their field and social responsibility? Who can they turn to for help, if needed?
In short: Where is the line drawn for the museum professional when torn between partisan political interests and the profession’s standards? How can the museum community protect its standards and support its members?
This year’s joint online conference is a starting point for a larger conference to be held within the context of ICOM Prague 2022 (August 20-28) and in line with its topic, “The Power of Museums.” IC Ethics and IC MEMO plan to further explore the theme, under the working title, “Narratives of Memory and the Power of theMuseum in Shaping Identity: Who holds the key?”
Further info and detailed program to follow soon.
[instagram-feed]